[Plugin] TexAndreas - Community Project Development

TexAndreas
Inspiration

Ever since I started playing SA-MP I always had some great ideas that I would like to do but the reality was to get anywhere you just have to do it yourself. Development for ColAndreas started around the same time as the development of 420DayZ but ended up taking a lot longer to complete. Then late one night the first prototype for ColAndreas was born but even after that to reach a polished project took even longer. The people that stepped up and really helped polish things off is what made ColAndreas successful. TexAndreas is a whole new level of detail on top of the ability to detect collisions. I really can't do this alone if this project is to ever be created is has to be started but I need several good minds to collaborate. SA-MP is not really a place of community projects but I think we can change that!

What is TexAndreas?

The idea of this project is to bring a whole new level of detail and knowledge of the SA-MP world for the server. What this plugin does is creates a collision world out of all the textured surfaces of models. From there all the textures would need to have their attributes manually defined. For instance a road texture you could define the areas on the texture which would return certain attributes. In this case it could be the dashed yellow line or a solid white line or perhaps the road surface it's self. You could find out if they cross the lines when they drive and profile a players driving habits. That is really just for starters as the depth of information comes down to meticulously defining each texture.

Road Map

Phase i: Research
  • Locate available resources
    • Current tools that can read the various assets of GTA:SA <In progress>
    • Detailing/understanding the inner workings of models <Not ready>
    • Examine data and determine which data will be required for plugin use <Not ready>
Phase ii: Programming/Asset Building