[Tutorial] When to use the different MySQL queries

When to use the different MySQL queries
[*] Index
  • Introduction
  • MySQL queries
  • Threaded and non-threaded queries
  • What function should I use to send a query?
    • mysql_query
    • mysql_tquery
    • mysql_pquery
  • MySQL transactions
  • mysql_format or format?
  • How to create a table correctly
  • The end
[*] Introduction
Hello guys, this is the second part of my MySQL tutorial series I'm writing and at the same time it's the second one I write in English, so just like I say always: if you find any grammatical error let me know please. If you read the first part you should know that I'm using the R41-4 version, if you didn't I invite you to in order to know how to establish a connection correctly. In this tutorial we're going to see what type of queries we can use and in which cases we should use each one. Before anything I'd like to let you know that I'm not a MySQL expert, so if you know better code techniques you're welcome to share them with us.

[*] MySQL queries
So, what is a query? Well, a dictionary might help you with that! Alright, jokes apart, a query basically is a "question" we send to the database in order to receive an "answer", also known as "result". The result contains the answer to our query, so that's what we process when the MySQL server returns it. With the current MySQL plugin we can send different types of queries, by different types I mean how they will be executed/treated by the SA-MP server. Here's where threaded and non-threaded queries come in.

[*] Threaded and non-threaded queries
In SA-MP the script runs on a single thread, that means that if you execute two functions consecutively the second one will run after the first one finishes, but what would happen if the first function requires a lot of time? You can read more about it on this tutorial wrote by Slice.