About ovh 'DDoS protection'.

So I've recently changed host to ovh as many of my friends recommend me it cause of its 'ddos protection', well I've been using it for about 2 weeks by now, and I must say; I am very very disappointed!

My server gets attacked kinda twice a day, and ovh sends me a mail saying server is under attack thus we're mitigating all traffic, but meanwhile all players ( usually ~80) timeout and cannot connect to server until this attack is over!

I had been using another host (BlazingFast) for about 2 years had same ppl threatening me, but never had a single harm.

When I asked them about this, they replied saying:
Quote:

For VPS, antiDDoS option is in standard mode, that means if you receive an
attack,
the antiddos protection start in 120 seconds from attack incoming time.

If the attack is powerful, your server could crashes down during this initial
120 seconds.

You can set up rules to empower the antiddos function, fro you IP tab in your
OVH Customer's Space,
by clicking on settings icon on the right of your IP.

Anyway, if the incoming attack is not comparable to preconfigured patterns in
OVH antiddos,
the attack can pass through it and makes the server crash.

If an attack pass through antiddos system, you can recover the proper logs and
send all to OVH's Abuse
section, by filling the form in this link:
http://www.ovh.it/abuse/
This is total bullshit.

OVH Dedicated Servers Game Server Protection are better for attacks like this.

https://www.ovh.co.uk/dedicated_servers/game/

I was working as scripter in a freeroam Hosted Tab server which uses ovh's VPSs. After two weeks, the server shut down because one of the clients of OVH made a ticket there which tells that the VPS is stolen by the server's owner and he changed the details (like pass etc) of the VPS. They scammed the server owner for $50. Now he changed the host.
OVH is totally shit and untrusted for me.

BlazingFast is the best, i tested it and no ddos attack.

Quote: