Blast from the Past

It's been a few years since I last posted here, and as I'm in the midst of writing my college applications I'm reminiscing on everything I've done in the past ~10 years. Some of you might remember me as Ricky Phelps or just by my forum avatar, but this post isn't directed at anyone.

When I first joined SAMP, I was a scripting noob. I came from leeching MapleStory and World of Warcraft private server forum releases and making my own little communities. I had little knowledge in actual, formal coding. SAMP was an active, welcoming community where I could easily experiment with code and ask for help on the forums. I joined when I was 10 or 11 years old (2010/2011) and I had no idea what great impact it would have on my life.

I spent several years within the community and I've been a part of many communities. There were some things I've done that I'm not proud of and others that, now that I'm reflecting on them, are very meaningful to me. I disappeared from the SAMP community following a few of my web releases because I discovered my passion: web development.

The choice to leave wasn't easy to make. I uninstalled the game completely because I knew I would inevitably be attracted back to it, and I wanted to make that difficult. I came back in intermittent periods of 1-2 weeks a couple of times but I never intended to allocate the same amount of time that I had previously allocated. Leaving gave me a lot of free time to develop my web development skills and gave me insight into the real life coding world.