Operating system

Which one should I pick up? I heard that most of them are the same, but I am new to the world of linux and idk.. I want to h ost a SAMP and a TS3 server with 4gb of RAM[VPS]

I would recommend Debian Jessie, it works perfectly for me and has far better package updates, support in my opinion.

Debian and Ubuntu are pretty much the same because Ubuntu is based off of Debian. CentOS is also very common for servers, but it is based off of RedHat which is very different. I would also recommend Debian Jessie. I've found CentOS to have a confusing package manager and the SELinux (security thing) that is enabled by default is really a show-stopper.

From my side I prefer CentOS.
Read this:
- http://hostcollate.com/blog/operatin...ubuntu-debian/

CentOS.

There's no /best/ Linux distribution, it all comes down to your taste and the structure/design/purpose of the distribution. A staff member on Linux.org has written an article on 'the best distro,' I would suggest you to read it. If you want to try and find out which distro suits you, I'd suggest that you download an installation image of each distribution, download/install Oracle VirtualBox and mount the installation image onto VirtualBox. Install the distro and mess around with it.

For newcomers to Linux, I would suggest to start using Ubuntu and then gradually shift to Debian for server usage. There's not much of a difference in terms of core functionality so you won't be having a hard time to adjust yourself.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vince
Посмотреть сообщение
I've found CentOS to have a confusing package manager and the SELinux (security thing) that is enabled by default is really a show-stopper.