Most Secure Forums

Sadly, I have had some bad experience with SMF recently. My forum was breached, and accounts were compromised.

For this reason I have decided to not use it again.

So here is my question: what is the most secure free forum software?

I don't mind paying for VB or Ipb, but if i don't have to that would be great.

Before blaming it on SMF, do you have an idea of how that person gained access?

Mybb is secure enough and easy enough and contains a lot of forum converters, didn't see a 0day exploit for a long long time. IPB is worth it too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infinity
Посмотреть сообщение
It was definitely because of some loophole in SMF. Even after re-installing the software and changing all passwords it still happened.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinHD
Посмотреть сообщение
It was definitely because of some loophole in SMF. Even after re-installing the software and changing all passwords it still happened.
Mind mentioning your SMF version?

Quote:
Originally Posted by XO
Посмотреть сообщение
Mind mentioning your SMF version?
The latest version - SMF 2.0.11

Seems there is an exploit that enables you to spoof a user cookie and obtain administrator privileges. (2.0.11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by XO
Посмотреть сообщение
Seems there is an exploit that enables you to spoof a user cookie and obtain administrator privileges. (2.0.11)
This would make total sense - This is what happened to my forums.

MyBB is your best option. I would recommend following this guide as it contains security tips that will benefit you and prevent you from your site getting exploited again. Aside from your part, make sure the host you're using is not using outdated modules as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XO
Посмотреть сообщение
SMF is one of the most widely used free forum software. I really doubt if such a thing can be done. What's the source of this information? And if this is true, its an alarming situation.