Best linux compiler

Hello,

I am developing some plugins for a server, but last week they installed linux in the server's datacenter. I'm not experienced with linux and unix systems. What linux compiler should I use to compile Visual C++ files without problems?

Yeah, I know all that, I have adapted my whole code to work on linux and windows.
I am asking here because I saw some plugins like IRC that compiles in the both platforms.
Another question: Can I compile .so's on Windows using makefiles?

I'm using G++. I write the codes with gedit and after complie it with the 'g++' command.

Ковалски

I will use G++ too, it has windows and linux editions.
Thanks for the tip

I had no idea where to post this problem, so I post it here. I want to make a plugin under Linux, but I have problems with the SA:MP Plugin SDK. I didn't touch the files, just unpack them in a folder. I built the files (helloworld.cpp and amxplugin.cpp) and I got 9 warnings. But not that's my problem. When I try to link the files, the linker gives an error: undefined reference to `main'. I have no idea how to use the helloworld.def file (under Linux). Someone knows the answer?

The commands I used:

g++ -DLINUX -Iamx/ -c helloworld.cpp ../SDK/amxplugin.cpp
g++ -DLINUX -Iamx/ -o HelloWorld helloworld.o amxplugin.o

I almost forgot, I'm using G++ complier.

Ковалски

Doesn't work. Gives the same error with the 9 warnings. And how can I use the helloworld.def?

I quoted this from the SDK's readme.txt file:
Quote:

Linux also needs the compile flags "-DLINUX -Iamx/" with your favorite compiler

Ковалски

Quote:

And how can I use the helloworld.def?

You don't need that on linux

and maybe your code would help us more... can't see any issues with "main" at this very moment, except the sa:mp server calls the function Load.

Quote: