Becoming a Better Scripter

Before we get started, I would like to say a quick word about myself. I am capable of scripting just about anything realistically necessary for a SA-MP server at this point in time (or rather the majority of things).

That being said, I am looking to gain a more "fundamental" knowledge of scripting for SA-MP. I have no other programming experience except for Pawn.

I have found that Pawn is a "C-like Scripting Language." If I want to learn more about the basics/syntax of Pawn, should I learn about C? If so, are we just talking about C or C#, C++, etc. I'm not really sure how to tell what I should be learning.

Also, if you already happen to know some good resources to gain a better understanding of the fundamentals of programming in a C-Like scripting language please let me know!

I'm probably wrong about this, but I believe C# is the closest C-language to PAWN (out of C, C# and C++ that is).

C# and C++ are object orientated, C is the one similar to pawn, just similar, if you want to become a better scripter to script with pawn, just learn about pawn, C has plenty of things pawn doesnt have and never could be used on pawn, but yeah i suggest you learn C++ if you have time, you will understand many things and depending from where you learn C++ you could probably improve your scripting.

If you want to learn more about Pawn, read the Pawn documentation. Despite it being like C, it is a separate language.

Like I mentioned earlier, I have a general understanding of Pawn (and I can script almost anything in it). The real information I'm looking to learn are the basics of the language itself. For example, I feel like I should be able to answer the questions below:

What do the compiler flags "-d", "-O", and "-a" do?

When would "static stock const" be appropriate as a symbol declaration?