MySQL string to variable

Hey guys,

Im trying to get some data out of a database, and im not really sure how to return a string.
Right now im using this piece of code:
pawn Код:
cache_get_row( 0, 1, fetch, g_Handle, 24 );
With this code it isnt returning the username out of the database.
It is connected to the right database, since it is loading the coordinates and other data.

Anyone can help me?

~Wesley

I'm no expert with the mySQL plugin or SQL itself but in my callback I just have this:

pawn Код:
new rows, fields;
cache_get_data(rows, fields);

// Check if account exists
if(rows)
{
    new temp[256];

// Load an integer
    cache_get_field_content(0, "SomeFieldName", temp);
    pInfo[playerid][some_var] = strval(temp);

// Load a string directly into an enum/array structure
    cache_get_field_content(0, "AnotherFieldName", pInfo[playerid][some_string]);
}
else
{
    // No account, prompt to register or whatever
}
I wouldn't use the 'field ID' thing as what if you add a field between other fields? Then your entire order messes up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MP2
Посмотреть сообщение
I wouldn't use the 'field ID' thing as what if you add a field between other fields? Then your entire order messes up.
That's assuming you use a wildcard in your SELECT queries. Which is as bad as cache_get_field_content or whatever the function is called.

What's wrong with cache_get_field_content? And if it's so bad, why is it the first piece of code in your tutorial.

Don't get me wrong, I didn't mean anything bad and what to use is entirely up to the one designing their code.

However my personal opinion always is that people need to know what their code does and how exactly it is done unless using convenient functions isn't going to slow your code down.