Motivation

I started playing with concepts for a server about 2 years ago, and they never really took off at all, until about a year ago I started a CnR mode. Development went really slow and eventually ground to a halt and I stopped working on it. About 3 or 4 months ago I started working on it again and got quite a lot of stuff done, but recently (last month or so) my motivation for it has been going down so much that I literally haven't scripted anything in weeks.

I'm not sure what's causing this motivational drop; college? Not really. No free time? No. Going off SA-MP/GTA? Never! Going off scripting? Possibly. I want to go in to a game programmer career and am actually enrolled on a Software Engineering college course next year, and I still want to do it. I think one of my problems is trying to be better than I am. When I'm writing a script I'm constantly thinking about how it'll turn out, if it's efficient, if i'll be able to come back to it in 5 months and know what the code does etc. and all of these things seem to conflict with eachother. If I made it easily editable/readable, it's less efficient.

For example, ******. With all due respect (I have a lot of respect for ******), I can barely read a single line of YSI and understand, without hours of analysis and confusion, what it does. Is it me that isn't good enough to read it, or does ****** over-complicate things? I've always thought he over-complicates things, but then again programming can be very complicated. Am I cut out for this?

Here's what I'm talking about (Assuming ****** wrote this..)

pawn Код:
new
slot = playerid / _FIXES_ATTACHMENTS,
shift = playerid % _FIXES_ATTACHMENTS * MAX_PLAYER_ATTACHED_OBJECTS;
FIXES_gsObjectSlots[slot] &= ~((1 << MAX_PLAYER_ATTACHED_OBJECTS) - 1 << shift);

FIXES_gsObjectSlots[playerid / _FIXES_ATTACHMENTS] &= ~((1 << MAX_PLAYER_ATTACHED_OBJECTS) - 1 << playerid % _FIXES_ATTACHMENTS * MAX_PLAYER_ATTACHED_OBJECTS);