Posts: 1,223
Threads: 5
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation:
0
How do you guys feel about using tools? Tools such as missing bracket finders, auto script makers, and others. Do you think they teach you bad habits since you have the ability to easily create or fix something? Do you think they're the best thing in the world? What's your opinion on it?
Posts: 3,715
Threads: 358
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation:
0
For my opinion. They create a little bit bad habits and little bit lazy.
Because, The tool do it for you.
Unlike the old times of SA-MP which there is only quite tools.
Posts: 1,826
Threads: 52
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation:
0
We can say "yeah its a great think to reduce our load" but for some, coding is an "adrenaline rush" without relying on these tools a programmer can do his stuff with loads of fun! The machine ain't right every time. Don't forget that "Computer has 0 IQ, we(humans :P) are the most intelligent thing on the Earth, none can replace us."
Posts: 4,649
Threads: 64
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation:
0
Depend on the tools you use. When I start the development of Scripting Machine, it was just for beginers, but then I thought: "Hey, this ain't just for them, it's faster to do some things with this app, let's make an application that save scripter time by reducing some easy but slow task, so he can focus his effort on important things". I've personaly think I didn't got that yet, but I'm trying to.
The point is, if by using a tool you save time, so you can spent that time by scripting something more difficult, or thinking new ideas, then that app is a very good app. Otherwise it's not that great. But this is just my opinion.
Posts: 85
Threads: 4
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation:
0
Tools are for tools. If you want the job done properly, do it properly. Indentation is, and always will be; the best way to create and efficiently manage code. Auto script generators are just lazy, however, such things as mass converters etc. I think are very handy and useful tools for saving time and effort.
Posts: 349
Threads: 35
Joined: Nov 2007
Reputation:
0
I think it will be fine to compare such tools to the use of "pragma tabsize"; I mean, if you got some warnings about the indentation of your code, you should indent your code as needed, and not to use some definition to make the job easier.
As with bracket finder; you shouldn't have problems finding bracket if you write your code correctly. And even if you do have, it would be much better to find them yourself and fix the errors, so you'll have experience for the next time. If you use a tool to do anything for you - you haven't done a thing. We can create a tool that used to create gamemodes and script the way we want, without any coding. But how can we call ourself scripters if we're using that tool?
Posts: 15,941
Threads: 0
Joined: Jun 2008
PAWNO has auto-completion too, and reads "native" declarations directly.
Quote:
Originally Posted by VincentDunn
There are also some IDEs that automatically add a closing brace and indent for you when you press enter.
|
Notepad++ plugins! Frankly Notepad++ is the only tool I use, and I don't even have Slice's setup on it.
Posts: 772
Threads: 52
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation:
0
I must use things like phpStorm (PHP) and netbeans (Java) for school, but whenever I can I use Notepad++. As Y-Less pointed out, there's not much the editor can't do what the more sophisticated IDE's can when you install the right plugins (auto code indentation, compiling, code-completion, ...).
[HLF]Southclaw
Unregistered
I thought I'd always use Pawno as I just got used to it (though the tab to 4space bug really irritated me!)
But Patrik356b showed me Sublime Text, and I never looked back!
Neat demo right on the front page!
It's the best text editor I've ever used, I'd recommend it for anything! I still use Notepad++ a bit but I think this is far more useful.
It scans your document and saves each "word", you can define what denotes or separates words in the config (spaces, punctuation, brackets etc) then pops up with all those words when you start typing (in order of use) I thought that feature would eat up memory on large scripts but it seems fine!
You can also place multiple carets, so for instance if you have a line of checks like this:
pawn Код:
if(gVariable == something1)
if(gVariable == something2)
if(gVariable == something3)
if(gVariable == something4)
You can place one big caret over all the 'gVariable' and re-write it wither with CTRL+LMB or click and drag to select text with MMB (it's basically like box-select but with text!).
It's like Search and Replace only much much better and greatly improves workflow!
Posts: 162
Threads: 5
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation:
0
@Southclaw: Damn it looks pretty good.
Posts: 6,236
Threads: 310
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation:
0
I can say with 100% certainty that I have never missed a bracket. I got in to the good habit of doing this:
if()
{
}
Then I fill in the if statement, then code inside the brackets. Also good for functions inside functions:
if()
if(GetPVarInt() == 1 && IsPlayerAdmin())
Then fill it all in. (That example wasn't great but I can't think of a better one.
I don't think the use of tools is 'cheating', but I do think prevention is better than cure (fix).
Posts: 162
Threads: 5
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation:
0
@[GF]Sasino97: Same thing I do every time when I going to script something. And I hate tools like phpDesigner that automatically put brackets xD