GetLOSBetweenPoints

I'm not sure if this is the right section, but since its more a "how-to" discussion I thought it could fit here.

What I am thinking of is a function to get the LOS between to points. It came to my mind after I mapped a whole lot of interiors/houses without teleports and it sucks to be able to read chat of other people through walls.

Since there is no native, I really need some sort of workaround. Kye did it already with 3D-TextLabels, so there is a way, although it seems that I need a plugin.

I have no experience in plugin coding, but maybe my thoughts can help someone realizing it.

1) Is it possible to create invisible 3D-Textlabels and try to get a response from the client; if the client showed it there is nothing in the LOS. Does the client report this to the server? Then there would be no need for a client-plugin, a server plugin could do the whole thing.

If not, how must a client-plugin work? Any thoughts on this?

Okay, thanks for clearing this.
I might give it a try in my vacations, but it sounds like the chance that Kye implents it in his next update is higher than I got it working.

Thank you though, in case I get something working I'll report back.

I am not sure if I got it right, but are you talking about something that checks if the player is looking at a range of specific area?

No. It's to test if an object (i.e. a wall) is in the way of your line-of-sight.

Theres an internal GTA function for this sure, this should be used and added in some future version, but as it is client-sided and kalcor doesnt like client-sided things itra hard to say if will be added.
Checking it manually by checking object collisions would also work of course, but in opposite to the gta function as part of the engine, it will be extremely slow and I doubt that it could be used efficiently.

Yeah, I don't see this as a feature an any near releases, UNLESS static objects are added.