How to stop server from restarting?

I ordered a dedicated server... which I'll never order again from a certain company due to the fact that they are hard to reach and our service has been terrible... anyways, the server likes to restart randomly. Is there a config file I can set to tell it to stop? I'm kinda new to dedicated servers, but I know that when I run one on my pc it never just restarts randomly causing me to open an SSH link to the server to manually restart it.

I'm not sure if it is possible to stop an entire machine rebooting entirely, unless you know exactly why it occurs. However, the Wiki does detail some methods to keep the server online and restart in the event of a crash - see https://sampwiki.blast.hk/wiki/Linux_Ser..._Server_Online

As for the company, let us know - don't allow others to make the mistake of going with them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gossamer
I ordered a dedicated server... which I'll never order again from a certain company due to the fact that they are hard to reach and our service has been terrible... anyways, the server likes to restart randomly. Is there a config file I can set to tell it to stop? I'm kinda new to dedicated servers, but I know that when I run one on my pc it never just restarts randomly causing me to open an SSH link to the server to manually restart it.
What host are you using?

www.sampservers.info

If you have patience to get a hold of their CEO and wait for them to take 2 days to transfer a 20mb server to dallas instead of the UK... well good luck!

Ah, I thought you had a dedicated box on which the server ran, disregard my earlier advice linking to the wiki.

If someone hosts your server for you (Like SampServers do) not much you can do to stop it from crashing. They should have some mechanism in place to detect if a server has stopped running and if it has, restart it. Do you know why it crashes? Perhaps a bad script?