SA:MP is indie, but are we niche?

I thought this would be an interesting discussion to make. I've been playing SA:MP since 2006 or 2007 give or take and when I started playing I think the player base was pretty much the same as it is years on now (6000 - 15k players). We see indie games such as Minecraft take off to be huge but it doesn't seem that this has occurred with SA:MP. Now, I tried to find reasons as to maybe why SA:MP hasn't attained more popularity. What are you thoughts?

Oh and what I mean by niche is, do you think we're a small community of people who enjoy this (SA:MP roleplay etc) instead of SA:MP being more of a broad game that anyone can jump into and enjoy?

Another thing, do you like this small community we have going on, or would you prefer it if we were a little more mainstream so to speak.

You bring up a good point, i think it is because we are not official, and not as many ppl as we would want, know about samp existence. Kye and his beta team have created this on their own, and having a 20000+ player base everyday i think is a huge achievement. If Rockstar was to recognize sa-mp as official Multiplayer and would work on it as well, we would have much more people.

(I might be wrong about everything i say in here haha, but this is my prospective on things.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocketeer
Посмотреть сообщение
You bring up a good point, i think it is because we are not official, and not as many ppl as we would want, know about samp existence. Kye and his beta team have created this on their own, and having a 20000+ player base everyday i think is a huge achievement. If Rockstar was to recognize sa-mp as official Multiplayer and would work on it as well, we would have much more people.

(I might be wrong about everything i say in here haha, but this is my prospective on things.)
Yeah I really respect what Kye has done.