Posts: 46
Threads: 1
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation:
0
Mind, "velocity updated position" and read my post again carefully. You are speaking something different.
Posts: 3,324
Threads: 96
Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by vermaritt
Mind, "velocity updated position" and read my post again carefully. You are speaking something different.
|
I know what you mean. You are only considering the collision that is in 'front'. What if there happens to be another object nearby? Your method would just go through the nearby object and continue. We are in a 3D space, not 2D.
Posts: 46
Threads: 1
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation:
0
Take the "nearby" object's collision radius into account. If the first object does not detect the collision to the "nearby" object, then the "nearby" object would have to detect the collision as we will be doing a future check with collision radius itself.
EDIT: According to me, for this process ColAndreas's raycating would not be needed actually. As we are doing more prominent raycasting (kinda) for collision detection. But, ColAndreas's raycating would obviously be needed for map to object collision detection rather than object to object.
To Pottus, a suggestion for you. What about SetFPS(amount) or SetPlayerFPS(amount) ? Will be useful to perform simulations through pawn, I guess.
Posts: 3,324
Threads: 96
Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by vermaritt
Take the "nearby" object's collision radius into account. If the first object does not detect the collision to the "nearby" object, then the "nearby" object would have to detect the collision as we will be doing a future check with collision radius itself.
EDIT: According to me, for this process ColAndreas's raycating would not be needed actually. As we are doing more prominent raycasting (kinda) for collision detection. But, ColAndreas's raycating would obviously be needed for map to object collision detection rather than object to object.
To Pottus, a suggestion for you. What about SetFPS(amount) or SetPlayerFPS(amount) ? Will be useful to perform simulations through pawn, I guess.
|
The collision radius is not the best option here. For example, what if I threw a ball in the a hangar object? If we used axis-raycasting we could detect the walls inside the hangar, but if we used the radius it would always be near the hangar object.
Now @Pottus: How would the program handle breakable objects? Their collision would still be there as long as the object is not destroyed, so it would be detected even when the object is broken (unless you have some check for that)... Not a big deal for me, just thought I'd ask.
Posts: 46
Threads: 1
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation:
0
No, the ray will detect collision on the collision sphere of the hangar object. As each and every object's collision shape is a sphere.
Posts: 3,324
Threads: 96
Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by vermaritt
No, the ray will detect collision on the collision sphere of the hangar object. As each and every object's collision shape is a sphere.
|
If each objects collision was a sphere how would you walk on it's surface... -.-
Posts: 46
Threads: 1
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation:
0
22.03.2015, 07:40
(
Последний раз редактировалось vermaritt; 22.03.2015 в 08:31.
)
That is because of collision mesh.
I don't know whether bullet is capable of detecting meshes or not.
EDIT: Yes, bullet's raycasting do detect meshes.
Posts: 3,324
Threads: 96
Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by vermaritt
Yes, bullet's raycasting do detect meshes.
|
That has been my point the whole time. Now as I was saying before, we could raycast each axis in both directions (6 axis detection). Say we threw a gun (using the physics include) inside a hangar and we didn't want to go through a wall, we would need to check during each of the frames whether or not there is a collision between the object thrown and its surrounding by 6-axis raycasting. More than one of the rays will detect a close surface nearby so we could calculate the ricochet direction with some math. Once we calculate the direction we calculate the rest of the frames and continue.
Note: This would look better with smaller objects and spheres.
@Pottus, yeah I figured, it's no big deal to me I was just thinking about it when I was mapping my farm and thought about the dynamic hay object.
Posts: 3,324
Threads: 96
Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by n0minal
Indeed, i can figure out a lot of stuff to be done with ColAndreas, i think it will take sa-mp AI to a higher level, i will personally use ColAndreas on my project to detect obstacles for npcs etc, but it really brings a universe of possibilities as you said, congrats for your awesome job with this plugin, i really love it!
|
First I'm gonna use it to generate a new hud map. Second, everything else I needed something like this for in the past.
Posts: 4,049
Threads: 85
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation:
0
Oh so your custom hud map will be client sided? I tought you was going to do it server-sided, thats why i tought you was going to use gangzones etc. But nice idea, hope you finish your txds ^^
Posts: 3,324
Threads: 96
Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by n0minal
Oh so your custom hud map will be client sided? I tought you was going to do it server-sided, thats why i tought you was going to use gangzones etc. But nice idea, hope you finish your txds ^^
|
Yes, it will be client sided. Of course optional for player who join my server but it would help them out a lot. It is definitely easy to get lost in my map. About the TXDs, I've done it once, but does anyone know of a quick way to pack 144 txds? So far my quickest method was going through each one, replacing the picture, saving, and repeating 144 times. This is by far the slowest part of this whole map generation method.
Posts: 4,049
Threads: 85
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation:
0
Hmm try alci's img editor, i used that tool one time, not sure if it will help you but i think it worths a try, if otherwise i think you will have to write your own img editor :/
Posts: 3,324
Threads: 96
Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by n0minal
Hmm try alci's img editor, i used that tool one time, not sure if it will help you but i think it worths a try, if otherwise i think you will have to write your own img editor :/
|
Well it's not necessarily the img that's the hard part, it's going through each txd one by one. I tried looking for a command line txd editor but I can't find one. If there was a cmd line version of txd workshop (maybe JernejL would create one someday) I'd be in good hands.
Posts: 4,885
Threads: 57
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation:
0
If you want to test/start using ColAndreas please contact me for a pre-release version.
Posts: 46
Threads: 1
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation:
0
To Crayder, If you are that much confident please do make an include according to your method, I would really like to see it working.
To Drift Hunter, that can be done for sure.
To Pottus, nice I am ready to test It.
Posts: 3,324
Threads: 96
Joined: Sep 2013
23.03.2015, 19:43
(
Последний раз редактировалось Crayder; 24.03.2015 в 06:21.
)
Quote:
Originally Posted by n0minal
Hmm try alci's img editor, i used that tool one time, not sure if it will help you but i think it worths a try, if otherwise i think you will have to write your own img editor :/
|
I wrote a small AHK script that does the work in TXD-WS for me. This was the output:
Edit: New results (Test version.)
Posts: 248
Threads: 13
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation:
0
Do not get it wrong. It generates a bitmap file with the snapshot of the bullet/GTA collision world.