Posts: 498
Threads: 233
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation:
0
Well,i have made a login and register with mysql and 4 commands using zcmd and a big system with dialogs and saving/loading for objects,and then amx size went to 2500 kb,and .pwn is 59 kb,why did it increase that much and will it effect on the server?
Posts: 150
Threads: 1
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation:
0
Hi iBots,
I am speaking strictly from personal experience only; I don't believe that the file size of your .pwn or .amx should have any effect on the performance of your server. The larger your .pwn becomes the larger your .amx will become as you fill your gamemode with more data and it is important that you optimize your gamemode script especially when you start heading into the thousand's of lines as the more content you have the higher amount of resources you will be using and more work your server will be doing.
To re-iterate, only speaking here from personal experience.
Posts: 731
Threads: 29
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation:
0
When I used to have Y_INI, my amx file was ~4mb. As I am aware of, it doesn't affect the server.
Edit, a bit late.
Posts: 77
Threads: 5
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation:
0
When the compiler compiles something, it reorganizes the code, slots things there and there to allow it to work. Basically there's additional data required to run it as an actual gamemode from the server's client. However, 59kb to 2500kb is reasonably large, are you sure you do not have any includes doing this?
The data size does determine on performance however it doesn't take a massive impact. Think of it as a graphical image, high quality vs low quality. High quality requires more file size, however takes longer to load. In terms of SAMP though, compare the gamemode with the size of an image!
Posts: 826
Threads: 64
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation:
0
I have more than 6 includes and 5 plugins and 100K lines and the AMX size reaches 10MB+... And as long as its optimized, It doesn't affect performance at all.
Posts: 850
Threads: 29
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation:
0
What's the size before you compiled it?
Posts: 2,528
Threads: 124
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation:
0
Of course you can! The limit is only your heap size, which can be adjusted with #pragma dynamic (not recommended of course). 2048 is limit for dialog main body text.