Coding kills the fun?

What are your opinions on SA-MP after you started learning to code?

For me it killed a lot of the fun and hasn't been as fun as it was before I started coding back in like 2007, it took away from the mystery which is what I find fun in a lot of games.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Norn
Посмотреть сообщение
What are your opinions on SA-MP after you started learning to code?

For me it killed a lot of the fun and hasn't been as fun as it was before I started coding back in like 2007, it took away from the mystery which is what I find fun in a lot of games.
gotta agree on that..

although knowing all that stuff is cool too

Quote:
Originally Posted by saiberfun
Посмотреть сообщение
gotta agree on that..

although k nowing all that stuff is cool too
Definitely, without SA-MP I wouldn't know how to code any languages at all, it brought me on to PHP, C# etc.

I always wanted to run own server, roleplay server of course, I am still newbie but I learn! I learned a bit I have to say, did accomplished to make a little base script of rp based on y_ini with all these cmds and stuff and than... deleted it because it was just a lesson, it toke my 2 days but probably you guys like Norn and other people it takes few hours to make a little base script. Tho it never stole my fun, I had a lot of fun and I am looking forward to be a Community Founder of a great roleplay idea...

It took my "innocence" you might say. Back when i played Sa-mp and did not comment on everything with "oh you probably used X and Y to build this". But still, it was fun and i have moved on.
Maybe i will come back to the mod a year or two later for nostalgia reasons and perhaps i will also start a new script. But every game has this "turn" where you change from a newbie to a complete know-it-all and this transformation usually kills all of the fun (or at least the "newbie exploration" fun).