.amx Size

Hey all,

Just regarding the size of my .amx file ..

When I compile an 800kb script, the .amx file turns out to be just over 38mb. Would anyone be able to give me reasons as to why this happens and what I could maybe do to reduce the size of the .amx?

Appreciate it.

Well, it's determined by a few things.. Are you using new string[256]; a lot, where it's not needed? Because that will dramatically increase your AMX size.

What would you define as something 'Where it's not needed'?

Forgive me but I'm a beginner. Just started using strings recently.

But yes, my script does use a lot of [256] strings.

It's quite alright, here, i'll give you an example.. Say you wanted to just send a message to everyone saying that someone has typed a command.

(Note: I use ZCMD, as you're a beginner, you probably made your command using OnPlayerCommandText, but it's still the base that counts.)

Correct:
pawn Code:
zcmd(test, playerid, params[])
{
    new string[128];
    new name;
    GetPlayerName(playerid, name, sizeof(name));
    SendClientMessageToAll(playerid, white, "%s has typed \"/TEST\"!", name); // The \" is used to make Quotation marks in-game, as using just " " would close your SendClientMessage.
    return 1;
}
Incorrect:
pawn Code:
zcmd(test, playerid, params[])
{
    new string[256];
    new name;
    GetPlayerName(playerid, name, sizeof(name));
    SendClientMessageToAll(playerid, white, "%s has typed \"/TEST\"!", name);
    return 1;
}
As i don't think you would need 256 cells in order to just tell everyone that someone has typed a command.

Also, consider breaking away from Strtok, and things like that, ZCMD and DCMD are the most effecient commands, and they're also very very powerful.

Example:

/SetHP using STRTOK = 19 Lines:
pawn Code:
if(strcmp(cmd, "/sethealth", true)==0||strcmp(cmd, "/sethp", true)==0)
    {
        new varhp;
        tmp=strtok(cmdtext,idx);