fopen problem

Wow i am a dang noob.... i cannot figure out how to read from a file then write a value to an existing line of text...
I am trying to make a faction and have the faction be 1 for the gang in the players profile but i cannot figure it out... the compiler`s library crashes everytime i compile... this is the problem area:

Код:
new checkpoint1;
new string[128],sendername[128];
GetPlayerName(newsz,sendername,sizeof(sendername));
format(string,sizeof(string), "ladmin/%s.save", sendername);
new File:news = fopen(string,io_write)
I am trying to make it so it writes to the existing file News = 0 but i cannot figure out how, this looks like it will write it anywhere....

I am such a scripting newb

when you open a file, you should check if the operation was successful before fwriting / freading. This is because there will be an error if you try to perform file operations on a file that was never opened.
pawn Код:
new File:news = fopen(string,io_write); // don't forget the semicolan
if(news)
{
    //rest of file operations here
     fclose(news);
}
the 'io_write' operation will clear a file and write in it as if it were a new file, so you can't just write one selected line to the file, you have to write the entire contents of the file again.

You can however use 'io_append' which will leave the file intact, and anything written will be added to the end of the file.

Are you a good scripter? if so can you help me understand some of it a bunch more? I will try this thanks

BTW when i type in "fopen(" it does not show a tool tip saying the params... so is that a problem?

Nope.... It closes my server connection when it tries to connect.... can someone help me?

I am not a very good scripter.

I taught myself to script with trial and error, looking at the native functions in the pawno tab, and using ****** ( aka the wiki).

eg if you ****** 'samp fopen' it will lead you here.
https://sampwiki.blast.hk/wiki/Fopen