server setup problem not found on any forums. Please need help!

Hi, I am a noob at this,but have been doing a lot of reading and understand the basics.
I have read every possible guide for port forwarding and server setup available so please don't reply with a basic guide as no matter which one i use it doesn't work.

First the facts:

I have a dynamic IP, i am in the process of persuading my ISP to give me a static IP free of charge.
I have had some problems portforwarding. (i have used all the guides again and portforward.com)
my router is the Thompson Speedtouch 780.

If anyone knows this router you will know that you have to set up a game and sharing setting in the config and i have followed the portforward.com to set the ports to 7777. (i have also tried other random port numbers)

when i use an open port checking tool, and i query my port 7777 it says that the port is closed.
(is this an acurate reading? could my port forwarding have been done incorrectly? if anyone has experience with speedtouch please let me know.)

Now the unusual issue:

I have made all the neccessary config changes to server.cfg and am only using the basic gamemodes that came with the server. (i attempt to change this and make my own gamemode once i can actually get into the server.)

I run the server and it starts fine.

I then start SA-MP and add my internal IP the 127.0 blah blah :7777
(now am i right in thinking that this will let me onto my server and will work even if i have a dynamic IP and my ports are not forwarded?)

my server shows up and has the title and has a ping (very low 1-10 but that's a good thing right?)

Now i enter my server and i get the orange writing top left as should be "initializing SA-MP" then "connecting to 127.X.X.XX:7777"
then "unable to establish connection (to server)" or something very similar then "retrying" and it goes in a never ending loop of the same thing unable to connect.