SA-MP Forums Archive
Setting String Depending On Float (I think?) - Printable Version

+- SA-MP Forums Archive (https://sampforum.blast.hk)
+-- Forum: SA-MP Scripting and Plugins (https://sampforum.blast.hk/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: Scripting Help (https://sampforum.blast.hk/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+---- Forum: Help Archive (https://sampforum.blast.hk/forumdisplay.php?fid=89)
+---- Thread: Setting String Depending On Float (I think?) (/showthread.php?tid=80909)



Setting String Depending On Float (I think?) - NeRoSiS - 07.06.2009

Okay, firstly thanks for even looking at his to help.

Okay I could do it like this

pawn Код:
new Float:Health;
    GetPlayerHealth(playerid,Health);
    if(Health == 99)
    {
        TextDrawSetString(HealthBar[playerid],"...................................................................................................");
      return 1;
    }
But that means I need to do that 100 times, which would kind of blag to write out, so could I create a string, then the amount of health = the amount of dots.

pawn Код:
new Float:Health, string[128];
    GetPlayerHealth(playerid,Health);
    //format the string to health = dots
    TextDrawSetString(HealthBar[playerid],string);
Thanks in advance.


Re: Setting String Depending On Float (I think?) - Weirdosport - 07.06.2009

You could convert the float to an integer, then loop strcat to add a dot each time, and then send the string this makes.

eg:

pawn Код:
new Float:Health, iHealth, LString[105];
    GetPlayerHealth(playerid,Health);
    iHealth = floatround(Health, floatround_ceil);
    for(new i; i < iHealth; i++)
    {
        strcat(LString, ".");
    }
Very Untested.


Re: Setting String Depending On Float (I think?) - yom - 07.06.2009

pawn Код:
LString[i] = '.';
will be much faster than strcat


Re: Setting String Depending On Float (I think?) - Weirdosport - 07.06.2009

Plus I don't think I was using strcat properly, thanks >.>


Re: Setting String Depending On Float (I think?) - NeRoSiS - 07.06.2009

I'll give it a test, thanks a lot for the input it means a lot to me.


Re: Setting String Depending On Float (I think?) - NeRoSiS - 07.06.2009

Now that is really something, thanks a lot, I just learnt an amazing function and saved 1000 lines of code.

Thanks a lot Orb and Weirdo!