Minimizing lines -
NealPeteros - 15.09.2018
So I have a crapload of information in one line. How do you minimize it in order to avoid the
Код:
error 075: input line too long (after substitutions)
PHP код:
if(i != 19 || i != 20 || i != 21 || i != 23 || i != 24 || i != 25 || i != 27 || i != 28 || i != 29 || i != 30 || i != 31 || i != 33 \
|| i != 34 || i != 35 || i != 36 || i != 37 || i != 38 || i != 39 || i != 40 || i != 41 || i != 42 || i != 44 || i != 45 || i != 46 \
|| i != 47 || i != 48 || i != 49 || i != 50 || i != 51 || i != 52 || i != 53 || i != 55 || i != 56 || i != 57 || i != 58 || i != 59 \
|| i != 60 || i != 61 || i != 62 || i != 63 || i != 64 || i != 65 || i != 66 || i != 68 || i != 69 || i != 70 \
|| i != 72 || i != 73 || i != 74 || i != 76 || i != 77 || i != 78)
Re: Minimizing lines -
Banditul18 - 15.09.2018
if((i < 19) || (i > 78 ))
Re: Minimizing lines -
Lucky13 - 15.09.2018
You could try:
Код:
if( i<19 || i>78) { // Your code here }
As I assume you want the "i" variable not be between 19 and 78.
Re: Minimizing lines -
Spmn - 15.09.2018
Or delete the backslashes. They're unnecessary in your case.
Re: Minimizing lines -
NealPeteros - 15.09.2018
forgot about those, thanks!
Re: Minimizing lines -
Calisthenics - 15.09.2018
There are values missing such as 22, 26, 32, 43 etc. A switch is more accurate in this case if you use default keyword:
pawn Код:
switch (i)
{
case 19 .. 21, 23 .. 25, 27 .. 31, 33 .. 42, 44 .. 53, 55 .. 66, 68 .. 70, 72 .. 74, 76 .. 78: {}
default:
{
// "i" is not equal to any of these numbers, your code here
}
}
Re: Minimizing lines -
UFF - 15.09.2018
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calisthenics
There are values missing such as 22, 26, 32, 43 etc. A switch is more accurate in this case if you use default keyword:
pawn Код:
switch (i) { case 19 .. 21, 23 .. 25, 27 .. 31, 33 .. 42, 44 .. 53, 55 .. 66, 68 .. 70, 72 .. 74, 76 .. 78: {} default: { // "i" is not equal to any of these numbers, your code here } }
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by NealPeteros
forgot about those, thanks!
|
Please read replies before replying.
Re: Minimizing lines -
v1k1nG - 15.09.2018
You can use "\" to wrap the text and continue writing on a new line without getting any error
Re: Minimizing lines -
Calisthenics - 15.09.2018
Quote:
Originally Posted by UFF
Please read replies before replying.
|
Fixing an error and suggesting a more effective way are 2 completely different things. I clearly said it:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calisthenics
A switch is more accurate in this case if you use default keyword
|
...than using 51 || (OR) operators in a single IF statement.
Re: Minimizing lines -
v1k1nG - 15.09.2018
Yes but not only if() statements need to be wrapped. EG use a function, to wrap the text you will need to use the "\".
Re: Minimizing lines -
UFF - 15.09.2018
I wonder, why people replying on the post which has been solved.
Re: Minimizing lines -
v1k1nG - 15.09.2018
I wonder why are you so redundant? That solution isn't the most efficient, instead of wasting time stalking forum users and dancing on their nerves, go code, learn something, this forum ain't yours.
Reply only if you have a better solution please.
Re: Minimizing lines -
ShihabSoft - 15.09.2018
Quote:
Originally Posted by v1k1nG
I wonder why are you so redundant? That solution isn't the most efficient, instead of wasting time stalking forum users and dancing on their nerves, go code, learn something, this forum ain't yours.
Reply only if you have a better solution please.
|
Well said!
Re: Minimizing lines -
Threshold - 16.09.2018
Quote:
Originally Posted by UFF
Please read replies before replying.
|
Just because a problem is solved, it doesn't mean it can't be improved...
If anyone's reply on this thread is considered 'useless' to you, it should be your own.
I personally would also use a 'switch' in this instance. So pull the stick out of your ass and try and contribute to the community in some form other than being the village idiot.
Re: Minimizing lines -
Y_Less - 16.09.2018
Quote:
Originally Posted by NealPeteros
So I have a crapload of information in one line. How do you minimize it in order to avoid the
Код:
error 075: input line too long (after substitutions)
|
Код:
if(i != 19 || i != 20 || i != 21 || i != 23 || i != 24 || i != 25 || i != 27 || i != 28 || i != 29 || i != 30 || i != 31 || i != 33 \
|| i != 34 || i != 35 || i != 36 || i != 37 || i != 38 || i != 39 || i != 40 || i != 41 || i != 42 || i != 44 || i != 45 || i != 46 \
|| i != 47 || i != 48 || i != 49 || i != 50 || i != 51 || i != 52 || i != 53 || i != 55 || i != 56 || i != 57 || i != 58 || i != 59 \
|| i != 60 || i != 61 || i != 62 || i != 63 || i != 64 || i != 65 || i != 66 || i != 68 || i != 69 || i != 70 \
|| i != 72 || i != 73 || i != 74 || i != 76 || i != 77 || i != 78)
OK, firstly I don’t think that code does what you think it does. Taking just a small part:
Код:
if(i != 19 || i != 20)
So if the value is
19, the first check fails. But if the value is
19 the second check PASSES! So since you check that a number is not two numbers, every number passes - because no number is two numbers! Of course in your code it is worse since you check many many numbers pointlessly. To pass this check
i would have to be
19 AND
20 AND
21 AND … ALL AT ONCE - it clearly can’t be that…
You probably want:
Код:
if (i == 19 || i == 20 || i == 21 ...)
You can then invert the whole thing with
! or
else:
Код:
if (!(i == 19 || i == 20 || i == 21 ...))
Secondly, the two given options so far can be combined. They were:
Код:
if (i < 19 || i > 78)
That misses
22,
26, and others.
Код:
switch (i)
{
case 19, 20, 21, 23, 24, 25, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 33, 34,
35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48,
49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62,
63, 64, 65, 66, 68, 69, 70, 72, 73, 74, 76, 77, 78:
{
}
}
That is more accurate and slightly faster than all the
ifs, but is fundamentally the same thing.
Код:
switch (i)
{
case 19..21, 23..25, 27..31, 33..42, 44..53, 55..66, 68..70, 72..74, 76..78:
{
}
}
This generates identical code to the other switch, but is a bit shorter to write, and lends itself to a new form:
Код:
if (19 <= i <= 21 || 23 <= i <= 25 || 27 <= i <= 31 || 33 <= i <= 42 || 44 <= i <= 53 || 55 <= i <= 66 || 68 <= i <= 70 || 72 <= i <= 74 || 76 <= i <= 78)
{
}
That’s the fastest method so far given, but there is one even better method no-one has suggested, one that requires just one check (maybe two):
Код:
static const isIn_s[] = {
false, false, false, false, false, false, false, false, false, false,
false, false, false, false, false, false, false, false, false, true,
true, true, false, true, true, true, false, true, true, true,
true, true, false, true, true, true, true, true, true, true,
true, true, true, false, true, true, true, true, true, true,
true, true, true, true, false, true, true, true, true, true,
true, true, true, true, true, true, true, false, true, true,
true, false, true, true, true, false, true, true, true
};
if (0 <= i < sizeof (isIn_s) && isIn_s[i])
{
}
The
0 <= i < sizeof (isIn_s) check can be skipped if you know the range of
i.