SA-MP Forums Archive
IRC bot does not connect to irc servers - Printable Version

+- SA-MP Forums Archive (https://sampforum.blast.hk)
+-- Forum: SA-MP Scripting and Plugins (https://sampforum.blast.hk/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: Scripting Help (https://sampforum.blast.hk/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: IRC bot does not connect to irc servers (/showthread.php?tid=528995)



IRC bot does not connect to irc servers - Michael@Belgium - 30.07.2014

I have an annoying issue since 2 days - my irc bot does not connect to any irc servers. I tried my community irc server, my localhost irc server and sa:mp irc server (irc.tl). On all of them the bot just does not connect. I've made a raw logfile but ofcourse when it does not connect it doesn't log.

pawn Code:
//on top
#define BOT_1_NICKNAME  "SnB"
#define BOT_1_REALNAME  "Smash 'n burn bot"
#define BOT_1_USERNAME  "SnB Bot"
#define IRC_SERVER      "irc.exp-gaming.net"
#define IRC_PORT        6667
#define MAX_BOTS        1
new botIDs[MAX_BOTS], groupID;

//ongamemodeinit:

    print("--------------------");
    printf("Connecting ircbot to %s:%d - Nickname: %s, %s, %s...",IRC_SERVER, IRC_PORT, BOT_1_NICKNAME, BOT_1_REALNAME, BOT_1_USERNAME);
    botIDs[0] = IRC_Connect(IRC_SERVER, IRC_PORT, BOT_1_NICKNAME, BOT_1_REALNAME, BOT_1_USERNAME);
    printf("Setting int data for botid %d ...",botIDs[0]);
    IRC_SetIntData(botIDs[0], E_IRC_CONNECT_DELAY, 5);
    printf("Creating group ...");
    groupID = IRC_CreateGroup();
    printf("Group created: %d",groupID);
    print("--------------------");
Output:
Quote:

[17:55:30] --------------------
[17:55:30] Connecting ircbot to irc.exp-gaming.net:6667 - Nickname: SnB, Smash 'n burn bot, SnB Bot...
[17:55:30] Setting int data for botid 1 ...
[17:55:30] Creating group ...
[17:55:30] Group created: 1
[17:55:30] --------------------
It just doesn't do anything ...

Can anyone fix this odd problem ? I would be very thankful :c


Re: IRC bot does not connect to irc servers - Clad - 30.07.2014

You are using the default IRC port which is 6667, And many connections coming to it, It's just like 7777 Port in SA-MP Servers, And maybe they are blocking some of them.


Re: IRC bot does not connect to irc servers - Vince - 30.07.2014

Spaces and most special characters aren't allowed in usernames/realnames, so the IRC server refuses any connection attempt with that information. I know ` and ^ are accepted characters, among others, but I'm fairly sure that ' is not allowed.


Re: IRC bot does not connect to irc servers - Michael@Belgium - 31.07.2014

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clad
View Post
You are using the default IRC port which is 6667, And many connections coming to it, It's just like 7777 Port in SA-MP Servers, And maybe they are blocking some of them.
The port should by fine even there are much incomming connections, it should at least connect ...
And i don't think any irc server listens to port 7777

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vince
View Post
Spaces and most special characters aren't allowed in usernames/realnames, so the IRC server refuses any connection attempt with that information. I know ` and ^ are accepted characters, among others, but I'm fairly sure that ' is not allowed.
I tried to use 1 name for the nickname, realname and username. However it still doesn't work

pawn Code:
#define BOT_1_NICKNAME  "SnB"
#define BOT_1_REALNAME  "SnB"
#define BOT_1_USERNAME  "SnB"



Re: IRC bot does not connect to irc servers - Isolated - 31.07.2014

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael@Belgium
View Post
The port should by fine even there are much incomming connections, it should at least connect ...
And i don't think any irc server listens to port 7777



I tried to use 1 name for the nickname, realname and username. However it still doesn't work

pawn Code:
#define BOT_1_NICKNAME  "SnB"
#define BOT_1_REALNAME  "SnB"
#define BOT_1_USERNAME  "SnB"
This may sound silly, but try:

pawn Code:
#define BOT_1_NICKNAME  "SnB_Nick"
#define BOT_1_REALNAME  "SnB_Real"
#define BOT_1_USERNAME  "SnB_User"



Re : IRC bot does not connect to irc servers - ManuelNeuer - 31.07.2014

Contact the administration of the IRC, Your connection is getting denied


Re: Re : IRC bot does not connect to irc servers - Michael@Belgium - 31.07.2014

Quote:
Originally Posted by Isolated
View Post
This may sound silly, but try:

pawn Code:
#define BOT_1_NICKNAME  "SnB_Nick"
#define BOT_1_REALNAME  "SnB_Real"
#define BOT_1_USERNAME  "SnB_User"
Tried

pawn Code:
#define BOT_1_NICKNAME  "SnB_nick"
#define BOT_1_REALNAME  "SnB_real"
#define BOT_1_USERNAME  "SnB_user"
#define IRC_SERVER      "irc.exp-gaming.net"
#define IRC_PORT        8067
But still can't connect :/

Quote:
Originally Posted by ManuelNeuer
View Post
Contact the administration of the IRC, Your connection is getting denied
None of the incomming or outgoing connections are getting blocked


Re : IRC bot does not connect to irc servers - ManuelNeuer - 31.07.2014

Using any includes ?


Re: IRC bot does not connect to irc servers - Isolated - 31.07.2014

I've not bothered with IRC before, however, you're bot doesn't appear to be joining a channel? Correct me if I'm wrong of course.


Re: IRC bot does not connect to irc servers - Michael@Belgium - 01.08.2014

Quote:
Originally Posted by ManuelNeuer
View Post
Using any includes ?
Well, ofcourse. But i don't think that's the issue;

pawn Code:
#include <a_samp>
#include <a_mysql>
#include <irc>
#include <sscanf2>
#include <zcmd>
#include <KickBan>
#include <maploader>
#include <IsPaused>
#include <[MV]_*******>
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isolated
View Post
I've not bothered with IRC before, however, you're bot doesn't appear to be joining a channel? Correct me if I'm wrong of course.
Indeed, but it also doesn't join a network. Before it should join a channel it should connect to a network first - but it doesn't.