SA-MP Forums Archive
Miles Per Gallon - Printable Version

+- SA-MP Forums Archive (https://sampforum.blast.hk)
+-- Forum: SA-MP Scripting and Plugins (https://sampforum.blast.hk/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: Scripting Help (https://sampforum.blast.hk/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: Miles Per Gallon (/showthread.php?tid=508547)



Miles Per Gallon - Luis- - 22.04.2014

Right guys, i'm stumped. After nearly a day searching the internet on how MPG works, i'm resorted to asking here.

Basically i'm revamping my fuel system and am adding in mpg & fuel capacity for each vehicle, so far I've got the mileage system working, but how would I go about getting the MPG from the mileage?

What would the formula be?


Re: Miles Per Gallon - Luis- - 23.04.2014

Going to have to bump this, need help on the matter.


Re: Miles Per Gallon - BigBrainAFK - 23.04.2014

i think you would do something like:
pawn Код:
randomtimer()
{
    for(new a = 0; a < sizeof(Yourfuelarray); a++)
    {
              Yourfuelarray[carid] = drivenmiles * milespergallon
    }
}
and then just link the function with a timer


Re: Miles Per Gallon - Luis- - 23.04.2014

Ah right. You'll have to excuse me cause i'm a newbie when it comes to complex maths.

So basically the above code will give me the miles per gallon of say a Sultan? I would just times the mileage of the car with the miles per gallon that's in my array?


Re: Miles Per Gallon - BigBrainAFK - 23.04.2014

yah you first have to set like an array for the milespergalon if this should be something else for every car

like:
pawn Код:
new milespergalon[212][] = {
"4", "4.5" and so on }
and fetch the MPG with a stock like:
pawn Код:
public GetMPGFromID(vid)
{
        return milespergalon[i + 400];
}
or you just fetch it in the calculation
pawn Код:
randomtimer()
{
    for(new a = 0; a < sizeof(Yourfuelarray); a++)
    {
              new model = GetVehicleID(carid)
              Yourfuelarray[carid] = yourcarenum[carid][drivenmiles] * milespergallon[model]
    }
}



Re: Miles Per Gallon - BigBrainAFK - 23.04.2014

i should notice that this is madeup as i'm writing the quick replys so it could be that it dosen't work


Re: Miles Per Gallon - Konstantinos - 23.04.2014

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBrainAFK
Посмотреть сообщение
pawn Код:
return milespergalon[i + 400];
Yeah, that should be subtraction because it will exceed the bounds.

---

You basically want to get the distance, don't you? The distance is equal with mileage x fuel.


Re: Miles Per Gallon - BigBrainAFK - 23.04.2014

Quote:
Originally Posted by Konstantinos
Посмотреть сообщение
Yeah, that should be subtraction because it will exceed the bounds.

---

You basically want to get the distance, don't you? The distance is equal with mileage x fuel.
oh ya thanks for the tip and i just wrote the fuel that was used over a distance sorry for that but reading is not my best so: I'm sorry ;(


Re: Miles Per Gallon - Luis- - 23.04.2014

Oh, right. Well just added a temp string to see what the MPG actually was, says it's 3529 but the set MPG for the vehicle I was in was 38.

Need to figure out to make it do the MPG that is in the array now.