A tricky one (funcname[]) -
Lookin - 13.03.2013
im curious about is
is it possible to remove the "funcname[]) from SetTimer(funcname[], interval, repeating)
for a simple and clear example
from
SetTimer(funcname[], interval, repeating)
to
SetTimer(interval, repeating)
thanks in advance
Lookin
EDIT: btw im just curious Timers have nothing to do with why im wondering it was just the simplest code so that there where no hassles in the question
Re: A tricky one (funcname[]) -
Vince - 13.03.2013
Set a timer to do what? You're not making any sense.
Re: A tricky one (funcname[]) -
Dan.. - 13.03.2013
#define SetMyTimer(%1,%2) SetTimer(#MyTimer,%1,%2)
If that's what you mean.
Re: A tricky one (funcname[]) -
Sinner - 13.03.2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan..
#define SetMyTimer(%1,%2) SetTimer(#MyTimer,%1,%2)
If that's what you mean.
|
That doesn't make sense either.
Re: A tricky one (funcname[]) -
MP2 - 13.03.2013
Timers execute the code in a function after a set interval. Setting a timer without specifying the function is like displaying a transparent textdraw to a player!
Re: A tricky one (funcname[]) -
cessil - 13.03.2013
you could use a blank function name, however why not tell us the real reason you're wondering
Re: A tricky one (funcname[]) -
Lookin - 13.03.2013
ok.
for example:
I wanted to make a timer include that made one timer work like
pawn Код:
ST(S(5), 1); // 5 seconds
rather than
pawn Код:
SetTimer(funcname[], interval, repeating)
im just using
pawn Код:
SetTimer(interval, repeating)
so that i can have multiple functions using just one timer
like this
pawn Код:
public DoSomeThingHere1()
{
SendClientMessageToAll(LIGHT_BLUE,"MSG1");
ST(S(5),1); //5 seconds
return 1;
}
public DoSomeThingHere2()
{
SendClientMessageToAll(LIGHT_BLUE,"MSG2");
ST(S(5),1); //5 seconds
return 1;
}
also was going to add in a question, may as well do it here. how would i make processing cmds and timers to read and write faster?
Re: A tricky one (funcname[]) -
Vince - 13.03.2013
Isn't that exactly what y_timers does?
Re: A tricky one (funcname[]) -
Lookin - 13.03.2013
I have no idea ive never looked at the inc
anyways im just wondering if it can be done or not ive never said im working on anything
Re: A tricky one (funcname[]) -
Lookin - 13.03.2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lookin
ok.
for example:
I wanted to make a timer include that made one timer work like
pawn Код:
ST(S(5), 1); // 5 seconds
rather than
pawn Код:
SetTimer(funcname[], interval, repeating)
im just using
pawn Код:
SetTimer(interval, repeating)
so that i can have multiple functions using just one timer
like this
pawn Код:
public DoSomeThingHere1() { SendClientMessageToAll(LIGHT_BLUE,"MSG1"); ST(S(5),1); //5 seconds return 1; }
public DoSomeThingHere2() { SendClientMessageToAll(LIGHT_BLUE,"MSG2"); ST(S(5),1); //5 seconds return 1; }
also was going to add in a question, may as well do it here. how would i make processing cmds and timers to read and write faster?
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by ******
I'm still not clear how you want to specify which functions are called by your timer without that parameter...
There are multiple libraries for that - the most famous is probably ZCMD, but I'd say y_commands (and y_timers for timers).
|
Ok
public DoSomeThingHere2()
{
SendClientMessageToAll(LIGHT_BLUE,"MSG2");
ST(S(5),1); //only starts the timer in this function for the duration the function is called
return 1;
}
so that all it needs to do is count to the set amount of time (in this case S(5)) this function is used for rather than use a public and function name, all it knows is to use this function for the time set
And i didnt really plan it out or anything i was just curious if it was possible.