SA-MP Forums Archive
Getting lowest number and storing it in a variable - Printable Version

+- SA-MP Forums Archive (https://sampforum.blast.hk)
+-- Forum: SA-MP Scripting and Plugins (https://sampforum.blast.hk/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: Scripting Help (https://sampforum.blast.hk/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: Getting lowest number and storing it in a variable (/showthread.php?tid=339284)



Getting lowest number and storing it in a variable - iTorran - 02.05.2012

I have a set of 8 numbers..
I need to get the lowest and store it into a variable.. lets call it first.
After that I need to get the second lowest and store that into another variable.. lets call it second..
I need to do it again and again for 8 variables..

Code:
Lowest = variable: first
2nd Lowest = variable: second
3rd Lowest = variable: third
4th Lowest = variable: fourth
5th Lowest = variable: fifth
6th Lowest = variable: sixth
7th Lowest = variable: seventh
8th Lowest = variable: eighth
Like that.. I could mess around and do it myself but if someone here could write it out pretty quickly that would save me alot of time..


Re : Getting lowest number and storing it in a variable - Mixcraft - 03.05.2012

I wondered about the same issue, solving this would be awesome !


Re: Getting lowest number and storing it in a variable - MP2 - 03.05.2012

What variables do you want to order?


Re: Getting lowest number and storing it in a variable - iTorran - 03.05.2012

Quote:
Originally Posted by MP2
View Post
What variables do you want to order?
Well I have this (new Fastest[8])
In those are times stored in MS.

What I need to do is get those MS and see which is lowest..
So that I can sort out the times in 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th, 7th and 8th.


Re: Getting lowest number and storing it in a variable - MP2 - 03.05.2012

Will write when I get home. Not attempting on iPhone.

Apologies in advance for when I forget.


Re: Getting lowest number and storing it in a variable - iTorran - 03.05.2012

Lol alright then


Re: Getting lowest number and storing it in a variable - MP2 - 03.05.2012

Can't be bothered sorry, but here's my code for getting the closest player, it may be of some use:

pawn Code:
new Float:dist = FLOAT_INFINITY, closest_player = playerid;
        new Float:pos[3], Float:this_dist;
        foreach(new i : Player)
        {
            if(i == playerid) continue;
            GetPlayerPos(i, pos[0], pos[1], pos[2]);
            this_dist = GetPlayerDistanceFromPoint(playerid, pos[0], pos[1], pos[2]);
            if(this_dist < dist)
            {
                closest_player = i;
                dist = this_dist;
            }
        }



Re: Getting lowest number and storing it in a variable - iTorran - 04.05.2012

Y_Less suggested that I sort the array..
But that wouldnt work, as I have also have another array with names..
So the names and times would need to be linked, while showing in order from fastest to slowest


Re: Getting lowest number and storing it in a variable - Jefff - 05.05.2012

Show full example what You exactly want


Re: Getting lowest number and storing it in a variable - iTorran - 05.05.2012

Quote:
Originally Posted by Y_Less
View Post
I don't see the problem there at all, why can't you link data and sort the array? YSI has a set of functions in y_bintree for exactly that.
Because I don't know how to do that efficiently :P