How to check if a string contains spaces? - Printable Version
+- SA-MP Forums Archive (
https://sampforum.blast.hk)
+-- Forum: SA-MP Scripting and Plugins (
https://sampforum.blast.hk/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: Scripting Help (
https://sampforum.blast.hk/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: How to check if a string contains spaces? (
/showthread.php?tid=315752)
How to check if a string contains spaces? -
Superthijs - 04.02.2012
Hi, I've made a function to change a player's name, but when I use a space in the name,
the server crashes.
Is there any way to check if a string contains one or more spaces?
Re: How to check if a string contains spaces? -
Universal - 04.02.2012
Yes, use this:
This will return true if it contains spaces, false if not.
Re: How to check if a string contains spaces? -
[XST]O_x - 04.02.2012
pawn Code:
new string[length];
for(new i = 0; i < strlen(string); i++)
{
if(string[i] == ' ') string[i] = '_';
}
Will replace any space with an underscore.
Re: How to check if a string contains spaces? -
Superthijs - 04.02.2012
Thanks!
Re: How to check if a string contains spaces? -
Superthijs - 04.02.2012
But it gives a warning...
Code:
if(strfind(NewName, " ") == true) return SendClientMessage(playerid, 0xFFFFFFFF, "{FF0000}/SETNAME{FFFF00}: Spaces are not allowed in a name.");
Warning:
Quote:
C:\Documents and Settings\Superthijs\Mijn documenten\SA-MP Windows Server\filterscripts\Commands.pwn(173) : warning 213: tag mismatch
|
Re: How to check if a string contains spaces? -
AndreT - 04.02.2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Universal
Yes, use this:
This will return true if it contains spaces, false if not.
|
Wrong, wrong, wrong. Read
this before posting.
To see if the newName contains a space, use this:
pawn Code:
if(strfind(newName, " ") != -1)
{
// yes, it does
}
Re: How to check if a string contains spaces? -
[XST]O_x - 04.02.2012
I don't remember strfind returning a boolean...
pawn Code:
if(strfind(NewName, " ") != -1) return SendClientMessage(/* */);
Re: How to check if a string contains spaces? -
Superthijs - 04.02.2012
Oops, hehe... It works fine now.