SA-MP Forums Archive
Dialog too much text? - Printable Version

+- SA-MP Forums Archive (https://sampforum.blast.hk)
+-- Forum: SA-MP Scripting and Plugins (https://sampforum.blast.hk/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: Scripting Help (https://sampforum.blast.hk/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: Dialog too much text? (/showthread.php?tid=313607)



Dialog too much text? - MSI - 26.01.2012

Код:
:\Users\Nick\Desktop\Call Of Duty - Engine SA-MP\gamemodes\Untitled.pwn(398) : error 075: input line too long (after substitutions)
I think I have too much text in the dialog, how to solve this? Or must I using a dialog streamer?

Thx!


Re: Dialog too much text? - milanosie - 26.01.2012

Uhmm.. use sub dialogs?
I had this aswell..

try to make it go in mutliple dialogs

Like

Subject
subject1
subject2
subject3

get what i mean?


Re: Dialog too much text? - MSI - 26.01.2012

No, I was making a dialog with a lot of rules and explaination. I dont wanna use multiple dialogs...


Re: Dialog too much text? - milanosie - 26.01.2012

Quote:
Originally Posted by MSI
Посмотреть сообщение
No, I was making a dialog with a lot of rules and explaination. I dont wanna use multiple dialogs...
aww. I had the same yeah..

I just made it when you click "accept" it shows the next page
==============================================

PLEASE LOWER THE ANTI SPAM TIMER THANKS


Re: Dialog too much text? - SuperViper - 26.01.2012

Format a string twice. One having half of your dialog's text, the other having the rest of it.


Re: Dialog too much text? - MSI - 26.01.2012

I don't know about strings


Re: Dialog too much text? - Universal - 26.01.2012

Use strcat. Its very useful. Example:

pawn Код:
new string[512];

string[0] = '\0';

strcat(string, "You whats up dog?", 512);
strcat(string, "\nYo dog a new line", 512);
strcat(string, "\nAnother new line huh?", 512);
strcat(string, "\n Yup", 512);
strcat(string, "\nGet outta' here man", 512);
strcat(string, "\nYou got it chief", 512);



Re: Dialog too much text? - Konstantinos - 26.01.2012

paste the message from the " " into this box and Calculate Characters. The limit is 1024.
pawn Код:
new
    Msg[ 1024 ];

strcat( Msg, "1/3 of the message" );
strcat( Msg, "2/3 of the message" );
strcat( Msg, "3/3 of the message" );

ShowPlayerDialog(...Msg...);



Re: Dialog too much text? - Abreezy - 26.01.2012

It's probably too long becuase you have it all in one line, Split the lines with \n and \ then go to next line and keep going for example:


pawn Код:
ShowPlayerDialog(....................."Words word words \n words words words \
                                                        words words words words words \
                                                       words words"
);
It should be \ if not try / xD


Re: Dialog too much text? - Universal - 26.01.2012

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abreezy
Посмотреть сообщение
It's probably too long becuase you have it all in one line, Split the lines with \n and \ then go to next line and keep going for example:


pawn Код:
ShowPlayerDialog(....................."Words word words \n words words words \
                                                        words words words words words \
                                                       words words"
);
It should be \ if not try / xD
Its not going to work this way, will give the same error.