String problems - Printable Version
+- SA-MP Forums Archive (
https://sampforum.blast.hk)
+-- Forum: SA-MP Scripting and Plugins (
https://sampforum.blast.hk/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: Scripting Help (
https://sampforum.blast.hk/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: String problems (
/showthread.php?tid=290295)
String problems -
Jack_Leslie - 15.10.2011
I have this string:
pawn Код:
format(string, sizeof(string), "Your origin is %s.", GetPlayerOrigin(playerid));
It's meant to switch between the enum values (which are right, I debugged them) and output the string but it doesn't. here's the getplayerorigin:
pawn Код:
public GetPlayerOrigin(playerid)
{
new string[126];
switch(PlayerInfo[playerid][Origin])
{
case 5: string = "Russia";
case 4: string = "Africa";
case 3: string = "Australian";
case 2: string = "Europe";
case 1: string = "America";
case 0: string = "No Origin Specified";
default: string = "None";
}
return 1;
}
Re: String problems -
AeroBlast - 15.10.2011
I think that this would work:
pawn Код:
public GetPlayerOrigin(playerid)
{
new string[126];
switch(PlayerInfo[playerid][Origin])
{
case 5: string = "Russia";
case 4: string = "Africa";
case 3: string = "Australian";
case 2: string = "Europe";
case 1: string = "America";
case 0: string = "No Origin Specified";
default: string = "None";
return string;
}
return 1;
}
Again, I don't know if this works.
Re: String problems -
PrawkC - 15.10.2011
pawn Код:
stock GetPlayerOrigin(playerid)
{
new string[126];
switch(PlayerInfo[playerid][Origin])
{
case 5: string = "Russia";
case 4: string = "Africa";
case 3: string = "Australian";
case 2: string = "Europe";
case 1: string = "America";
case 0: string = "No Origin Specified";
default: string = "None";
}
return string;
}
Must be a stock, a public cannot return a string.
Re: String problems -
Jack_Leslie - 15.10.2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrawkC
pawn Код:
stock GetPlayerOrigin(playerid) { new string[126]; switch(PlayerInfo[playerid][Origin]) { case 5: string = "Russia"; case 4: string = "Africa"; case 3: string = "Australian"; case 2: string = "Europe"; case 1: string = "America"; case 0: string = "No Origin Specified"; default: string = "None"; } return string; }
Must be a stock, a public cannot return a string.
|
Thank you handsome sir.
Re: String problems -
Ash. - 15.10.2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack_Leslie
Thank you handsome sir.
|
Does that actually work correctly?
I'm sure assigning strings to variables cannot be done through the equals operator...
Could be having a stupid moment though...
Re: String problems -
Jack_Leslie - 15.10.2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by funky1234
Does that actually work correctly?
I'm sure assigning strings to variables cannot be done through the equals operator...
Could be having a stupid moment though...
|
Yes it did work.
Re: String problems -
Ash. - 15.10.2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack_Leslie
Yes it did work.
|
Definitely a stupid moment, I guess! Sorry!
Re: String problems -
GrimR - 15.10.2011
I agree though funky, I always got errors when doing this, I even posted about it....
Also you were doing return 1;, so it wouldn't be passing a string back anyway lol. But I see you have it solved now.