Kinda useless question -
Mean - 08.02.2011
Why do some scripters put ALOT of spaces in their code? xD, I always wanted to know that!
Re: Kinda useless question -
Finn - 08.02.2011
What do you mean?
Re: Kinda useless question -
weedarr - 08.02.2011
Its called indentation and it makes the code easier to read and it looks better.
Re: Kinda useless question -
Mean - 08.02.2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Finn
What do you mean?
|
Some people do like this:
pawn Код:
if ( sscanf ( params, "u", id ) )
return SendClientMessage ( playerid, 0xAAAAAA, "Message" );
That's what I wanted to ask, why so much spaces? It makes the line LONG, and you can get error for "input line too long" if you do a long line...
I prefer no un-needed spaces like this:
pawn Код:
if(sscanf(params, "u", id))
return SendClientMessage(playerid, 0xAAAAAA, "Message");
Re: Kinda useless question -
Donny_k - 08.02.2011
It's easy to read, looks neater to me also, I format my code always like that when I'm writing a samp script. When I write something for c# or c++ (visual IDE) I don't as it formats for me but when writing some code in an editor which doesn't auto format then it will look like that.
It's just a style like indentation, everyone has thier own, like you put spaces between your parameters.
Re: Kinda useless question -
DeathOnaStick - 08.02.2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donny_k
It's easy to read, looks neater to me also, I format my code always like that when I'm writing a samp script. When I write something for c# or c++ (visual IDE) I don't as it formats for me but when writing some code in an editor which doesn't auto format then it will look like that.
It's just a style like indentation, everyone has thier own, like you put spaces between your parameters.
|
That's 100% my opinion. It's just the same thing with the brackets
and
does not matter which you use, but everyone uses his own style. I like the version with less spaces and the bracket directly behind the if-statement, which is the most common way of scripting, i guess, due to the fact, that it is the fastest one (which i know), although I began with putting the bracket into a new line, which makes it harder for me to now switch over to the, in my opinion better style.
Re: Kinda useless question -
mamorunl - 08.02.2011
I much rather have the second one. I then have a good overview of the brackets and can see if I am missing one (open or close resp)
Re: Kinda useless question -
Hal - 09.02.2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mamorunl
I much rather have the second one. I then have a good overview of the brackets and can see if I am missing one (open or close resp)
|
Yea i like it more for the readability. And since i do that much indentation, i do not count lines. I do not believe more lines = a good script. Neither does less lines = a good script
Re: Kinda useless question -
ev0lution - 09.02.2011
I'm definitely someone who likes to compact code as much as possible.
Usually it's just more convenient for me, as I hardly ever use the mouse, so using arrow keys when I need to fix something becomes a pain when you're going past 800 spaces in one line.
Re: Kinda useless question -
Mean - 09.02.2011
Well, abt the brackets, I put them in a new line, it's easier to find a missing bracket then.
Compare this
pawn Код:
public Something(sthing) {
for(new i; i < MAX_PLAYERS; i++) {
DoSomethin
}
return true;
}
It's easier to find a missing bracket like this:
pawn Код:
public Something(sthing)
{
for(new i; i < MAX_PLAYERS; i++)
{
DoSomethin
}
return true;
}
Isn't it?
Abt the spaces, I might start scripting with spaces. LoL!