SA-MP Forums Archive
MAX_SLOTS or MAX_PLAYERS - Printable Version

+- SA-MP Forums Archive (https://sampforum.blast.hk)
+-- Forum: SA-MP Scripting and Plugins (https://sampforum.blast.hk/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Forum: Scripting Help (https://sampforum.blast.hk/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+---- Forum: Help Archive (https://sampforum.blast.hk/forumdisplay.php?fid=89)
+---- Thread: MAX_SLOTS or MAX_PLAYERS (/showthread.php?tid=195301)



MAX_SLOTS or MAX_PLAYERS - Celson - 02.12.2010

I've always assumed that MAX_PLAYERS was defined by the 'maxplayers' value in the server config. Was I right?

If I was wrong. Does that mean when ever I've used the MAX_PLAYERS in a for loop, is it looping 500 times?


Re: MAX_SLOTS or MAX_PLAYERS - MrDeath537 - 02.12.2010

MAX_PLAYERS will always 500.


Re: MAX_SLOTS or MAX_PLAYERS - Celson - 02.12.2010

Shiiit...


Re: MAX_SLOTS or MAX_PLAYERS - Steven82 - 02.12.2010

Unless you use these,
pawn Код:
#undef MAX_PLAYERS
#define MAX_PLAYERS 50// 50 = Server slots



Re: MAX_SLOTS or MAX_PLAYERS - MrDeath537 - 02.12.2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven82
Посмотреть сообщение
Unless you use these,
pawn Код:
#undef MAX_PLAYERS
#define MAX_PLAYERS 50// 50 = Server slots
Yes, I usually use it:

pawn Код:
#define MAX_SPLAYERS (ammount)
#define MAX_SVEHICLES (ammount)



Re: MAX_SLOTS or MAX_PLAYERS - Celson - 02.12.2010

Cheers mates! Good to get this out of the way.


Re: MAX_SLOTS or MAX_PLAYERS - Steven82 - 02.12.2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDeath
Посмотреть сообщение
Yes, I usually use it:

pawn Код:
#define MAX_SPLAYERS (ammount)
#define MAX_SVEHICLES (ammount)
I use that sometimes also but not your exact defines :O


Re: MAX_SLOTS or MAX_PLAYERS - iggy1 - 02.12.2010

To get max players from server.cfg i beleive its this, (slower than MAX_PLAYERS though)
pawn Код:
for(new i; i < GetMaxPlayers(); i++)



Re: MAX_SLOTS or MAX_PLAYERS - TheXIII - 02.12.2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by iggy1
Посмотреть сообщение
To get max players from server.cfg i beleive its this, (slower than MAX_PLAYERS though)
pawn Код:
for(new i; i < GetMaxPlayers(); i++)
You could also do this for loops:

pawn Код:
//Global variable
new TOTAL_PLAYERS;

//OnGameModeInit:
TOTAL_PLAYERS = GetMaxPlayers();

//Loop:
for(new i; i < TOTAL_PLAYERS; i++)
Should be faster than calling GetMaxPlayers() every time.

However, I would recommend simply using foreach include.



Re: MAX_SLOTS or MAX_PLAYERS - LarzI - 02.12.2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by ******
Посмотреть сообщение
This issue is covered in the code optimisations topic, the simple outcome is "use foreach".
Was just about to say the same.