bigger gamemode more CPU? -
Sampiscool123 - 24.01.2010
the bigger the game mode the more CPU it will use? if so how big would it have to be to use to much?
Re: bigger gamemode more CPU? -
HydraX - 24.01.2010
Depending how much Timers you use.
Re: bigger gamemode more CPU? -
Sampiscool123 - 24.01.2010
is 5 timers ok?
Re: bigger gamemode more CPU? -
RoBo - 24.01.2010
The number of timers doesn't matter. A bigger gamemode would only use more RAM, not CPU (as pawn is single threaded).
Re: bigger gamemode more CPU? -
Correlli - 24.01.2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sampiscool123
the bigger the game mode the more CPU it will use? if so how big would it have to be to use to much?
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sampiscool123
is 5 timers ok?
|
What are you actually trying to do? Screw up your server?
Re: bigger gamemode more CPU? -
RoBo - 24.01.2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Correlli
What are you actually trying to do? Screw up your server?
|
There's nothing wrong with having 5 timers... you could have 50 and there still wouldn't be any problems.
Re: bigger gamemode more CPU? -
Correlli - 24.01.2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoBo
There's nothing wrong with having 5 timers...
|
I haven't said anything against timers. Check his first post and maybe you'll get the point.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoBo
you could have 50 and there still wouldn't be any problems.
|
Indeed, if the interval is big enough.
Re: bigger gamemode more CPU? -
Sampiscool123 - 24.01.2010
does more objects mean more CPU?
Re: bigger gamemode more CPU? -
Woet - 25.01.2010
CPU usage is caused by processing data, not by objects, timers etc.
Please read
http://forum.sa-mp.com/index.php?topic=79810.0 for ways to lower CPU usage.
And be sure that your OnPlayerUpdate is very optimized because any code in there gets called hundreds of times a second.
Re: bigger gamemode more CPU? -
iLinx - 25.01.2010
In short - each time you do something on your server it takes up some ticks from the cpu.
For example, an if statement, a for loop, writing to a file, etc, will use up CPU.
Generally in SA-MP most CPU usage is generated by players (commands, etc)
Example - lets say you have 100 commands that use the standard 'strcmp' method in your script, thats ~100 boolean expressions that the script may potentially need to cycle through each time you enter a command (depending on where the command is in the callback ofc).