SA-MP Forums Archive
Frequently Asked Questions [READ THIS BEFORE POSTING] - Printable Version

+- SA-MP Forums Archive (https://sampforum.blast.hk)
+-- Forum: SA-MP Server (https://sampforum.blast.hk/forumdisplay.php?fid=6)
+--- Forum: Server Support (https://sampforum.blast.hk/forumdisplay.php?fid=19)
+--- Thread: Frequently Asked Questions [READ THIS BEFORE POSTING] (/showthread.php?tid=106958)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5


Frequently Asked Questions [READ THIS BEFORE POSTING] - Woet - 07.11.2009

How do I run a server? (Windows):
1) Download the latest Windows server at http://sa-mp.com/download.php.
2) Unpack the file and open up server.cfg with wordpad/any other editor
3) Change the RCON password at least, feel free to change other things
4) Open samp-server.exe and it should work.

How do I run a server? (Linux):
1) Download the latest Linux server at http://sa-mp.com/download.php.
2) Unpack the file and open up server.cfg with nano/any other editor
3) Change the RCON password at least, feel free to change other things
4) Chmod the file (chmod +x samp03svr)
5) Run samp03svr (./samp03svr) and it should work.

My server doesn't show up for friends!
Be sure to have port forwarded, follow the instructions at http://www.portforward.com/english/a...erverindex.htm
The IP to give to your friends is shown at http://www.whatsmyip.org/
Also make sure 'announce' and 'query' are set to 1

My server doesn't show up on the internet/hosted list!
Home hosted servers never show up there, if this is about friends, read above.
Also make sure 'announce' and 'query' are set to 1

My server doesn't show up for me!
If it's home hosted, the IP (just for you) is 127.0.0.1ort (port is usually 7777)
Also make sure 'announce' and 'query' are set to 1

Is my server online?
http://monitor.sacnr.com/checker.html

How many players can I host?
Well, the main factor is upload speed, which needs to be about 25 kb/s per player.
Do note this fluctuates a lot depending on rates, gamemode, objects and player density.
CPU and RAM usage depends on your gamemode, a SA-MP server with lvdm uses as little as 3 mb of RAM and nearly no CPU.

I need a free server
It's your own risk, but free servers can be closed, files can be edited or your scripts can be stolen without anything you can do about it.
We do not care about them stealing your gamemode, either buy proper hosting, host it yourself or take free hosting and accept those risks.

The server window closes right away!
Please read the bottom of server_log.txt, it gives you the error and how to solve it.

I have a dynamic IP!
You can try and call your ISP and get a static IP, but most likely this is either impossible or they will charge for it.
Remember, home connections are not made for server hosting, at most ISPs it's even forbidden.
There is nothing you can do about it.

My question isn't here!
Okay, please follow these steps:
1) Search!
2) Read the wiki!
3) Use ******!
4) Use a proper subject, so not '[HELP] SERVER [HELP] ROUTER [CRITICAL]!!!!!!!!!!' but something like 'My router crashes when I port forward'.
5) Describe your problem thoroughly, in proper English with screenshots if needed.


Re: Frequently Asked Questions [READ THIS BEFORE POSTING] - MachineHead - 07.11.2009

Is this gonna be stickied?


Re: Frequently Asked Questions [READ THIS BEFORE POSTING] - DeltaAirlines12 - 10.11.2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by clum'
Is this gonna be stickied?
xD, it currently is.


Re: Frequently Asked Questions [READ THIS BEFORE POSTING] - Corey_Faure - 24.02.2010

Thank you so much Woet. Because of you, even I managed to get a server running from my PC!


Re: Frequently Asked Questions [READ THIS BEFORE POSTING] - aronz10 - 28.04.2010

I HAVE MANY MANY Questions. 1st: What does CHMODE Mean? How can i chmode the file??

Im finished downloading PTConfig, What's next?




Re: Frequently Asked Questions [READ THIS BEFORE POSTING] - jubbaj - 19.05.2010

Do we have to put a password?


Re: Frequently Asked Questions [READ THIS BEFORE POSTING] - RoBo - 21.05.2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by jubbaj
Do we have to put a password?
You only use the "password" option if you want to limit access to the server. The "rcon password" is mandatory.


Re: Frequently Asked Questions [READ THIS BEFORE POSTING] - Jackster - 02.06.2010

How Do You add maps??


Re: Frequently Asked Questions [READ THIS BEFORE POSTING] - Agent Smith - 02.06.2010

Under
Code:
public OnGameModeInit()



Re: Frequently Asked Questions [READ THIS BEFORE POSTING] - Jackster - 02.06.2010

Thanks

Is there a plugin or script that just dose this as my gamemode has errors and i can't POWNO it ?


Re: Frequently Asked Questions [READ THIS BEFORE POSTING] - Agent Smith - 02.06.2010

You can put it in a FS under
Code:
public OnFilterScriptInit()



Re: Frequently Asked Questions [READ THIS BEFORE POSTING] - Jackster - 02.06.2010

er ok plz expand..


Re: Frequently Asked Questions [READ THIS BEFORE POSTING] - Agent Smith - 02.06.2010

Well create a few FS, get the object code and place it under public OnFilterScriptInit(). Add the FS name into your server.cfg. Restart the server and your objects should be there


Re: Frequently Asked Questions [READ THIS BEFORE POSTING] - Jackster - 02.06.2010

mm ill give it ago
Thanks


Re: Frequently Asked Questions [READ THIS BEFORE POSTING] - Jackster - 02.06.2010

I gat this : : error 021: symbol already defined: "CreateObject"



Re: Frequently Asked Questions [READ THIS BEFORE POSTING] - Agent Smith - 02.06.2010

Whats the line?


Re: Frequently Asked Questions [READ THIS BEFORE POSTING] - Jackster - 02.06.2010

Error says line 9

Code:
public OnFilterScriptInit()

		CreateObject(8171, -1498.684204, 550.523315, 2.464361, 0.000000, 11.1726770051, 0.000000); //
	CreateObject(4867, -1436.614502, 488.131561, 1.887438, 0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000); //
	CreateObject(4867, -1226.395752, 488.167664, 1.895569, 0.000000, 0.000000, -360.000039696); //
	CreateObject(4867, -1409.881958, 670.681213, 1.897804, 0.000000, 0.000000, -360.000039696); //
	CreateObject(4867, -1227.359741, 670.663391, 1.894034, 0.000000, 0.000000, -719.999678321); //
public OnFilterScriptInit() is on line 6 ...


Re: Frequently Asked Questions [READ THIS BEFORE POSTING] - Agent Smith - 03.06.2010

pawn Code:
public OnFilterScriptInit()
{
    CreateObject(8171, -1498.684204, 550.523315, 2.464361, 0.000000, 11.1726770051, 0.000000);
    CreateObject(4867, -1436.614502, 488.131561, 1.887438, 0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000);
    CreateObject(4867, -1226.395752, 488.167664, 1.895569, 0.000000, 0.000000, -360.000039696);
    CreateObject(4867, -1409.881958, 670.681213, 1.897804, 0.000000, 0.000000, -360.000039696);
    CreateObject(4867, -1227.359741, 670.663391, 1.894034, 0.000000, 0.000000, -719.999678321);
}
Are you sure it looks like this?


Re: Frequently Asked Questions [READ THIS BEFORE POSTING] - New_Player[USW] - 03.10.2010

Oh so this is why I know my port-forward failed, I'll call my ISP to make a static IP .
THANKS WOET!


Re: Frequently Asked Questions [READ THIS BEFORE POSTING] - Elmerz_com - 21.11.2010

Nice! thanks this sher helpd!